All Customer Reviews for "HJC IS-33 Helmet - Black"

Average Customer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Write a review and share your thoughts with others.


Reviewer: Albert Knoblock (Spring, TX) 9.10.2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Snug
I like this helmet but as other reviews have mentioned, it seems to run a little small for the size ordered. I measured my head (according to the size chart) at 22 1/4 inches and ordered a medium which goes up to 22 7/8... and it feels a bit tight. I like the built in sun visor because it's convenient and so I didn't order an additional smoked visor but should have just because sometimes I want to throw the visor down and not worry about deploying or releasing the built in visor as it's a slide at the top of the helmet with a retract button and sometimes can be a bit annoying trying to slide the visor down or release with the button. All this being said, it's actually a pretty good helmet and my complaints are minor. Again, anyone reading this review may want to consider buying a size larger as these do seem to run small.

Reviewer: john wojtek (san angelo, Texas) 7.7.2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


fair
This item is fair, well constructed but don't believe when you read that they run large, I ordered 1 size larger than their chart indicates for my measurement and it is very snug and hurts after 200 miles or so.

Reviewer: Bill Merkle (Fort Worth, Texas) 7.2.2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Love It
Can't say one thing bad about this helmet. I find myself riding more since I got it due to the comfort and wind protection. I've been riding for 45 years and the IS-33 is by far the best I've owned.

Reviewer: jim tucker (glendale, az) 9.26.2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


snug, but great
good looking, built in sun screen is very nice. fit was a bit snug out of the box, but I expect it will loosen up with flexing from putting on & taking off over time. All over, a great product.

Reviewer: Lucky (Lake Forest, CA) 9.4.2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Great Helmet
Up until now I have always worn a half helmet (lid) and decided to go with something that offers more protection. From the time I first put this helmet on I fell in love with it. I was afraid a 3/4 helmet would not be comfortable, but I was wrong... this helmet is super comfortable and with the ventilation system it is a lot cooler than I thought it would be. A great helmet that I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer: Don (Martinsburg, WV) 5.31.2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5


Nice helmet but....
The helmet is nice and fits well but my issue is with the face shield. I have only had this helmet for a couple months and when riding at highways speeds (70 mph) the face shield is constantly being pushed up. Very annoying.

Reviewer: Deborah Stauch (Claremont, NH) 5.8.2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Love my new helmet!
A great value and helmet.

Reviewer: Craig (, ) 3.24.2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Awesome
Fits perfect, great price and fast shipping too.

Reviewer: chuck (, ) 11.6.2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


HJC IS-33 Helmet
This is a good helmet for the price. I also have a full face HJC and use it often.

Reviewer: G. Lynch (Mapleton, Maine) 9.15.2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Helmet review
After about 1/2 half hour, it starts to hurt my forehead. Other that that it's comfortable for the short runs.

Reviewer: linda n bill (coffeyville, ks) 3.17.2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


love it
Beautiful style, looks great,feels great, Love the sun visor.

Reviewer: Steve Seng (lexington, kentucky) 3.16.2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Good, comfortable helmet w/ shade bonus
The helmet fits snugly but comfortably. Love the built-in sun shade.

Reviewer: Bill Turnipseed (Danbury, Texas) 3.16.2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5


Great helmet!
Really like the helmet. Audio speakers fit nicely and the ease of changing the shield make it very versatile. Like it better than the modular that it replaces.

Reviewer: Ed Wight (Phoenix, AZ) 3.16.2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Helmet Review
I think this is the best helmet I've ever owned. It's comfortable and breathes well, like not wearing one at all. The draw back is I had to order a new front clear visor because I scratch it when I dropped it and I've been waiting two months to get it in

Reviewer: tigermom (owatonna, mn) 3.16.2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


Best
Love it! Forget the sunglasses fit is perfect! Highly recommend, best helmet ever owned :)

Reviewer: Jeannie (Greenwood, AR) 6.19.2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


IS-33 saved my husband's life
My husband recently had an accident on his Harley while wearing his IS-33. He was knocked out but came to quickly. He was not seriously injured and will recover fully. The ER doctor said that he would not be talking to him if he had not been wearing his helmet. The helmet is severely scratched but not busted at all. The motorcycle is totaled. He will be purchasing another IS-33!

Reviewer: Dave A (Lillington, NC) 5.24.2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5


IS-33
At first I thought I had ordered my helmet to small. In just a few days the lining had adjusted to my size very well and now it fits great. I love it.

Reviewer: Joseph D. Schwenz Sr. (Clarksville, TN) 3.21.2010

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5


Good but not great helmet
I saw this same helmet at a Harley shop and wanted one to put my H-D headset in, but I wasn't willing to pay $185 for it! I bought one here, for $125 and thought that was a reasonable price for this helmet. The only difference between them was the lack of H-D logos on the helmet and I can fix that by adding a few H-D stickers, LOL! I bought one of these helmets because I needed an open face helmet to put my H-D headset in. I tried on an XL helmet at the H-D shop and it fit perfect, so I ordered an XL online but it seems to fit a bit more snug and is difficult to get on and off without a lot of trouble getting my ears "right" inside the helmet, once I get it on. My H-D headset was easy to get installed on/in the helmet, but once I have the helmet on and pull the shield down, the microphone is squashed between the shield and my lips, and the arm of the microphone rubs on the bottom edge of the shield. The little sunshade that you can pull down out of the helmet is a really cool idea, and one of the features that really sold me on buying this helmet to start with. The only problem with it is, when you pull it down, it leaves an area at the bottom of your sight of view, which is not covered by the shade and so you're looking through the shade straight ahead but the lower portion of your view is brightly, unshaded. You can cover more of your view if you pull the shade down to that last click, (the place where they say you're not suppose to put it except to remove/replace the shield), but then the shield rubs on your nose and you can't wear it like that. To improve this helmet, I would make a couple of suggestions; 1st, Make the clear face shield a little "rounder" so that a headset microphone will fit under it. 2nd, Make the cutout for the nose in that pull down sun-shield more pronounced so that the shield will come down on both sides of the nose better and cover more sight area. Over all, it's not a bad helmet, I'm going to keep it. I love the way my H-D headset fits on/in the helmet. I have tried using it on some half shell helmets with the ear pouches for the speakers and I never liked the way that fit/worked. I figure with a little use the helmet will loosen up and get easier to put on. I may choose to remove the clear shield and use the helmet without the shield since I normally wear a half shell helmet anyway, I'm use to not having a shield, and that will fix my problem with the microphone being squashed by the shield. So the bottom line is, I have a pretty good helmet but one that I paid more than I needed for, since I may end up not using either shield much, or at all.

Back to HJC IS-33 Helmet - Black

Clearance

Shop Clearance

Deeply Discounted and Open Box Merchandise.

Shop Now

Gift Certificates

Gift Certificates

A perfect gift for any motorcycle enthusiast.

Buy Now

We Now Ship To Canada!

We Now Ship To Canada!

Copyright © 2014 Helmet City. All rights reserved.

Site Design and Development by Miva Merchant Professional Services